December 17, 2018 

It’s been quite the semester! 

We kicked off with a celebration of our inaugural PROJECT THIRD residency by sharing the work of residents BFAMFAPhd with our community, we had a great semester of Faculty Lunch Talks and VALS lectures then ended with our dept’s first participation at UNTITLED Art Fair featuring over 40 alumni artists and launching Pratt Institute Editions (PIE) in Miami. Many thanks to all who made these new initiatives possible!

We are equally proud of the work that faculty, staff, and students accomplished this semester; generating inspiring and innovate work and engaging in rigorous and thoughtful critique. Congratulations to all our students on their hard work, and a heartfelt thanks to our faculty and staff for their commitment, generosity, and excellence. You are the heart, soul and engine room of our community–we truly appreciate all that you do!

Wishing everyone a well-deserved winter break, Happy Holidays and see you in 2019!


NOTE: The newsletter is sent out bi-monthly on Mondays, so please send announcements two weeks in advance to and stay connected with us on Facebook Instagram and Twitter.

Pratt Fine Arts at UNTITLED Miami Beach 2018:

Our participation demonstrated our commitment to our alumni and celebrated the launch of Pratt Institute Editions (PIE)to initiate a new MFA scholarship fund. The works were selected by our two alumni curators, Kelly Worman, and Caroline Taylor.  All Proceeds are shared equally between participating artists and for the new MFA scholarship fund.  And please read more about the fair here

Thank you to all our amazing alumni for participating and everyone who visited our booth!

Alumni participants: Derrick Adams, Emily Auchincloss, Polina Barskaya, Brice Brown, Sean Carroll, Ahmet Civelek, Lisa Corinne Davis, Matthew Deleget, Eric Diehl, Nick Fusaro, Jeff Gabel, Heather Garland, Allen Glatter, Clare Grill, Karen Heagle, Will Hutnick, Tony Ingrisano, Fay Ku, Dean Levin, Susan Luss, Scott Malbaurn, Robert Mapplethorpe, Heather McKenna, Cristina de Miguel, Rebecca Morgan, Nicole Mourino, Nick Naber, Jodie Niss, John O’ Connor, Anthony Palocci, Sharmistha Ray, Nicole Reber, Duke Riley, Hiba Schahbaz, Jen Shepard, Polly Shindler, Anna Sörenson, Swoon, Mickalene Thomas, Erin Welsh, Deborah Willis, Robert Wilson.

Deadline: February 25, 2019.

Pratt Institute’s Fine Arts Department offers a residency program that awards accomplished professional artists a private studio space located on our Brooklyn campus. Visual artists with a demonstrated commitment to their artistic practice who will benefit from a month-long studio residency are encouraged to apply. Our Studio Residency Program is intended to support artists by providing the time and space necessary to make work. 

Click here for more information.

Visiting Artists Lecture Series

Faculty Lunch Talks